Australian Game Developer Awards

The Australian Game Developer Awards are the annual national industry awards for games developed by Australian game developers.
The Awards are managed by the Game Developers’ Association of Australia (GDAA), with nominations encouraged in the lead-up to the Game Connect: Asia Pacific 2018 Conference (GCAP 2018).

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible, games must be in digital format, have been developed in Australia and released between 1 September 2017 and 1 October 2018.

Applicants must make release versions of the game digitally available to each member of the Awards Committee.

Games that were nominated in previous years are not eligible for re-nomination.

To be eligible, more than 50% of the game must have been developed in Australia and games must not be specific location-based.

You must provide valid contact information for each game submitted

The nominee or a representative must be present at the Australian Game Developer Awards night on Wednesday, 24th October to accept the award.


All winners will be selected by the Australian Game Developer Awards Committee based on nominations received during the nomination period. The Award Committee is comprised of external experts, with a strong knowledge of the game development industry.

This year, we have removed the traditional categories and eight games worthy of recognition will be chosen by the judges. Creative fields like ours are messy and sometimes games don’t fit within neat categories. With this is mind, submissions will still be evaluated against criteria including artistic aesthetic, audio, technical excellence, etc. but the games will be judged as a whole rather than focusing on specific parts.

Judges will rate each nominated submission based on a qualitative review process and the scores will be standardised and averaged using an algorithm to ensure proper process.

The Awards Committee members are not paid for their contribution and will abstain from any votes in the event that a conflict of interest arises.

The decisions of the Awards Committee are final and no further correspondence will be entered into once judging is complete.


Studio of the Year
This award honours the studio that best represents the Australian industry, through talent, innovation, success, and community spirit.

The Adam Lancman Award
The Adam Lancman Award (community recognition) honours an individual or individuals who have helped the game industry advance to a better place, either through facilitating a better game community from within, or by reaching outside the industry to be an advocate for video games and help further our art.

Rising Star
The Rising Star Award honours those who have made significant contributions to the Australian Games Industry in the past 1 – 3 years. They have become invaluable members to the community and show great talent in their field, constantly working to facilitate a better game community.

Game of the Year
This award honours the best game to come out of Australia in 2018. Criteria for GOTY include innovation and/or originality, unique gameplay features, presentation, and production value and quality.

AGDA Award Winners
Seven titles will be recognised as AGDA Award Winners, based on their own unique qualities. Judges will be looking at visual aesthetic, design and innovation, technical excellence, audio and compositional aesthetic, narrative, accessibility and representation. We want to reward outstanding achievement for whole products, and understand that sometimes exceptional games do not fall inside neat categories.




Nominations close on 24th August 2018 at 6pm (AEST).
No submissions will be received or acknowledged after this date.



What are the Australian Game Developers’ Awards?

Reinstated in 2013, the Australian Game Developers’ Awards (AGDAs) ceremony is an annual industry event celebrating the outstanding achievements of Australian game developers.

Who are the AGDAs aimed at?

The AGDAs are aimed at any Australian game developer or studio that has developed and released a game in Australia between 1 September 2017 and 1 October 2018. Attendees of the event will be finalists, guests, GCAP delegates and other industry guests of the GDAA.

What are the award categories?

The complete list of award categories are:

  • Studio of the Year
  • The Adam Lancman Award (Person of the Year)
  • Rising Star
  • Game of the Year
  • Excellence in Art
  • Excellence in Design
  • Excellence in Narrative
  • Excellence in Audio
  • Technical Excellence
  • Accessibility Award
  • Representation Award

Can I submit my game for a certain/particular award?

No. The judges determine which award category is most appropriate for your game.

What are the eligibility requirements for submissions?

Award submissions are open to digital games developed and released in Australia between 1 September 2017 and 1 October 2018. 

Are early access games eligible?

No.  Only full access titles are eligible.

My game was released before 1 September 2017 but was available on a new platform in the 2018 AGDA timeframe, is it still eligible for submission?

No, the game’s original release date must fall within the eligibility period. \

My game is not digital, is it still eligible for submission?

Unfortunately, we cannot accept non-digital game submissions.

My game was co-developed outside of Australia, is it still eligible for submission?

To be eligible, more than 50% of the game must have been developed in Australia.

Do we need to pay anything to submit our game?

The Australian Game Developer Awards are about peer recognition and rewarding excellence and innovation in games. There are no fees or costs associated with making nominations.

When do submissions open?

Submissions for the 2018 AGDAs are scheduled to open on Thursday, 9 August and will close two weeks later on Friday, 24 August. This submission period will not be extended under any circumstances.

When will we be notified if our game is listed as a finalist?

The top finalists from each category will be notified via e-mail at least two weeks in advance of the AGDA ceremony. Finalists who are not Game Connect Asia Pacific conference delegates will need to contact the GDAA to arrange attendance at the Awards ceremony.

How are games judged for the awards?

All winners will be selected by an expert committee based on the submissions received during the nomination period. Judges will rate each submission against a set of predetermined criteria, after which an algorithm creates an average of the judge submitted scores, ensuring standardisation. There will be one winner per category and the decisions of the Awards Committee are final.

Where are the AGDAs held?

This year, the AGDAs will be held at the St Kilda Town Hall on Wednesday, 24 October at 8pm, during Melbourne International Games Week.

Can I buy tickets to attend the event?

No, the event is by invite only. It’s open to finalists, guests and people attending GCAP 2018. If you have been shortlisted for an award but are not attending GCAP 2018 we will be in contact to organise your invitation.